The Harpist of Madrid

The Death of Procris

Cover picture: The Death of Procris by Paolo Veronese.

I am Gordon Thomas and I live in London with my lovely wife Janet. I’m now retired and my favourite hobby is writing. I’m so excited! I’ve just published my first novel, The Harpist of Madrid. This blog is dedicated to the novel. I’ll tell you what it’s about, why I wrote it, how I wrote it and just about everything else about it.

The blurb on the back cover says,

Bright and musically gifted, Juan Hidalgo grows up in the Madrid of the early sixteen-hundreds. Employed as a harpist in the court of King Philip IV, he is soon writing his own music and sharing in the life of the court. The King confounds his expectations by being a charming and helpful man, and a fellow musician. When Juan makes a happy marriage both his family life and career seem to be falling into place. His wife rewards him with a son.

The King is amazed when he witnesses Juan’s escape from death while saving another. Soon to be engaged by the Inquisition, Juan agrees, in a crucial test of loyalty, to act as a clandestine agent for his king. Yet new risks await him in Rome where he has to succeed or Spain will collapse into bankruptcy. In Italy, new ambitions form. On the verge of achieving them, his family life is blighted by a cruel fate. How will he deal with death and insanity?

At once tragic and uplifting, Gordon Thomas has penned a rich and convincing portrait of art and society at a time when Spain is in upheaval. He lets an intimate member tell of his life and loves.

I hope this tickles your fancy! My publisher, Olympia Publishers, www.olympiapublishers.com , have it available for purchase on their website.  Alternatively, you may like to buy it at www.bookdepository.co.uk. It can be bought there for £7.74 which is 25% off the cover price and it will be delivered to you free, wherever you are in the world! What a deal! It is also available on www.ebay.co.uk. There signed and dedicated copies can be bought at less than the cover price! If you live in Australia or New Zealand you can buy it on: http://www.mightyape.co.nz/search/?i=All&prev=&s=the+harpist+of+madrid&SearchButton=Search?r=1850981 It’s for sale on www.amazon.co.uk too! Publication was on 30 November 2011.

10 thoughts on “The Harpist of Madrid

  1. Excellent goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great site.

  2. Hi Gordon! I’m Laura, the guide you had on your visit to Galicia…hope you remember me! I’ve just got your novel today, I’m very excited about it! I’ll let u know how I find it, I’m sure I’ll enjoy it 😉 hope the rest of your crossing went great!

    1. Hi Laura, Of course I remember you! We spoke outside the mother of pearl church. Thank you for buying The Harpist! We had a wonderful cruise which started so well in Galicia! I hope you enjoy my book. Please let me know what you think of it! Thanks again for buying it! Bless you, Gordon

Leave a Reply

