Magic Signing

I’m so pleased that the signing at W H Smith, Epsom went so well. Inspired by Zoe, who was in charge of the shop today, I caught an earlier bus and was in there attracting customers and talking about the book well before 10 o’clock! (Usually I don’t start until about 11am!) Within about two minutes a kind lady had bought one and we were away!

By the time lovely Jan arrived at about 12.45 with some sandwiches for lunch, I’d sold 16 which I thought was quite good, bearing in mind the not brilliant weather. Some really interesting people stopped by to chat. One was a lady artist. We talked for ages about writing, painting and creativity in general. I’ll definitely look at her paintings which are displayed in miniature on her web page. Another was a guy who had started his own novel but didn’t know how to finish it. I suggested he read ‘On Writing’ by Stephen King, which is a masterwork for authors.

After a spot of lunch, which we took in the upstairs staff canteen, we were at it again. Jan had some shopping to do in the Ashley Centre but soon came back to WH Smith’s. By the time we packed in – about 3.30 – we were just about dead on our feet. But we’d sold 25 books! What a result! Thank you so much to each of you lovely people who bought it! I’m delighted and I’m sure Jerry Austin, the shop manager, will be when he goes in tomorrow.

Finally, I’d like to thank Jerry and his team for making me and Jan feel so welcome in his shop. Thanks  to Zoe for all she did today and to Jerry for setting up such a stunning display. We had a great day and this is the most books I’ve sold in one go! Thanks again, team!

My next signing is next Saturday at W H Smith, The Bentall Centre, Kingston-upon-Thames. Do drop by for a natter!

Leave a Reply

