Middle Watch – Loretta Proctor

Middle Watch – The Cover
I’ve recently read this great book by Loretta Proctor. I thought you might like to see the review which I published on goodreads.com today.

‘I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful story that Loretta Proctor has penned. She has the skill of a highly accomplished author in creating characters that the reader can identify with. I fell in love with Bridie to the extent that I felt I needed to help her avoid some of the issues she found herself dealing with, if only to ease her pain. Similarly, I strongly disliked Millie, who caused Bridie so much misery and led her to try a life away from her and her bullying sons. The most cleverly dealt with part of the novel is the love between Bridie and the taciturn Ryan who was in serious competition with Jim for Bridie’s affections. The resolution was as shocking as it was final.

Loretta has carefully researched the backdrop to the story, a succession of postings in criticaly important lighthouses around the coastline, a brilliantly original and refreshing idea. The story unfolds in a succession of locations, including London, that many readers will be familiar with. (I know the Chines in Bournemouth well) And she writes with clarity, simplicity and charm: ‘I didn’t love Jim and never would. He could never commune with my innermost soul in the way Ryan did without words..or clever ways.’; and ‘It’s like I’m the only person alive at a time like that, a God watching a universe.’

Well, done, Loretta. I’m looking forward to reading your next one! Highly recommended. ‘

10 thoughts on “Middle Watch – Loretta Proctor

  1. After study a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and I truly like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site listing and will probably be checking again soon. Pls check out my website as effectively and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

