First draft of “Expulsion” now finished!

I’ve got that ‘hooray’ feeling! On Tuesday, I completed the first draft of ‘Expulsion’ and I’m quite pleased with myself! As I’ve said, It’s a novel set in the context of the expulsion in 1609 – 14 of the Muslims from Spain to Africa. It’s a horrible part of Spain’s past and this, I think, is the first novel about it. I use Juan Hidalgo’s father as my main character. Juan was the main character in The Harpist of Madrid. so this is another prequel. The first is The Emerald of Burgos.

The lacklustre Philip III features as one of the characters. He took the decision to expel.
The lacklustre Philip III features as one of the characters. He took the decision to expel.

It will take a good few months to get the book into print and I hope Olympia, my publisher, will like it enough! There are over 168,000 words and some of them, maybe up to 10%, may have to go! And I may just write a brief non-boring historical postscript. I’ll see!

2 thoughts on “First draft of “Expulsion” now finished!

  1. Congratulations Gordon. Having recently completed my first novel, I know the satisfaction and elation that you are feeling after all the hard, but enjoyable, work of writing it.

    ‘Expulsion’ sounds like a great story and I can’t wait to read it.

    Very best wishes
    John

    1. Thanks, John! I’m really grateful for your kind comment. You are right about the feeling of elation! Now it’s the hard work of editing. You are only too aware of what that means! Very best wishes, Gordon

Leave a Reply

