The Big Edit begins!

I couldn’t leave it any longer. I couldn’t resist! I had to do it, come what may.

‘What?’ you may ask. Start editing “Expulsion”! So I’ve started this mammoth job. I’d like to reduce the 168,000 words to about 150,000, the 10% that Steven King says (In “On Writing”) should be excised. We’ll see. Don’t forget that if you are going to embark on an editing task as big as this, make sure you back up your new versions of the chapters you’ve edited. I send them to my son, Greg, who lives over a hundred miles away. So my chapters are backed up off site. Not a bad idea ,eh?

The Duke of Lerma by Peter Paul Rubens. Lerma commissioned and paid Rubens for this portrait
The Duke of Lerma by Peter Paul Rubens. Lerma commissioned and paid Rubens for this portrait

I thought I’d drop in this picture of the Duke of Lerma. He was Philip III’s principal adviser. Lerma was one of the main proponents of the expulsion of the Muslims from Spain. I’m sure you are dying to read the story to find out what happened and why!

Leave a Reply

