Making progress!

I told you earlier that I was now in the depths of the major edit of ‘Expulsion’ and that it was about the removal of the Muslims from Spain, around 1609.

Well, I’m making good progress and am on chapter 13 now. Lucky thirteen! I’ve had to rewrite a major chunk of it. This is because the main character, Antonio Hidalgo, father of Juan Hidalgo, who is ‘The Harpist of Madrid'(!) goes at one point in the story, to Marrakesh and something happens – I must not tell you what – in the El Badi Palace.

What remains of the El Badi Palace, in the beautiful city of Marrakesh.
What remains of the El Badi Palace, in the beautiful city of Marrakesh.

Lovely Jan and I visited Marrakesh, last month, to explore the palace, amongst conducting other reseach there, for the novel of course. To my horror, we discovered that the palace is completely different in layout to what I had previously though! Since that is so important to the plot, I’ve had to make some crucial changes. I do believe that , if you write historical novels, you owe it to your readers to at least get the history right.

I’ll report back to you again soon!

Leave a Reply

