The Dean’s December

I’m still busy with my editing but am making slower progress than I should! Too bad! I don’t want to bring my third novel out until next year. But I’m still working on it and enjoying the work.

The author himself. In black and white no less!
The author himself. In black and white no less!

One of my recent distractions – I’m also commenting on a friend’s new novel – is a book I’m reading by Saul Bellow, the Canadian/US Pullitzer and Nobel prize winning novelist, who died in 2005 at the ripe old age of 89.. It’s ‘The Dean’s December’. Not the easiest read but the Cold War is in there as well as racial issues in black America, Chicago in particular. I’m enjoying it. I’m sure I’ll be reading more of Bellow’s novels in the not too distant future. Maybe once I’ve finished editing ‘Expulsion’!

Leave a Reply

