No, it’s not Juan Hidalgo!

I’ve been away again with lovely Jan and that’s why I haven’t posted anything lately! More about the trip in a few days!

In the meantime, Rohan Renard is designing a web site for me. He discovered a portrait claimed to be that of Juan Hidalgo de Polanco, the protagonist of my first novel, The Harpist of Madrid. He wanted to put it on the new site. I’d seen this portrait before but felt sure it wasn’t our Juan. But Rohan was pretty confident and I can see why: nearly every site which is about Juan Hidalgo shows this portrait.

Felix Maximo Lopez, not Juan Hidalgo!
Felix Maximo Lopez, not Juan Hidalgo!

So this morning I did a bit of detective work! And lo and behold it Isn’t Juan Hidalgo. The portrait is of another, later Spanish composer called Felix Maximo Lopez (1742 – 1841) and it was painted by Vincente Lopez Portana in 1820 ( see https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/F%C3%A9lix_M%C3%A1ximo_L%C3%B3pez).

Anyway, I thought you’d like to know that!

Leave a Reply

