An Excellent night in Leatherhead

It was a real privilege for me to give a talk, a week or so back, to Leatherhead Rotary Club who meet at the stunning Police Federation Headquarters in Leatherhead.  What a friendly and welcoming bunch of people they are. They fed and watered – or rather beered – me in one of the nicest venues I’ve given one of my talks.

images[2]
The Police Federation HQ
I spoke about ‘A latecomer novelist’ who is me, of course. I covered how to write a novel, how to get it published and how to promote it through book signings, the online media and giving talks such as this. And I introduced the members to Juan Hidalgo, the most famous but now forgotten Spanish composer of the 17th century. He is the subject of my first novel, The Harpist of Madrid.

Gordon and Gary 1
President Gary and me!

So many thanks to Simon Edmands for inviting me, President Gary for introducing me and everyone else for making me feel so welcome as well as those of you who bought copies of my books! Profound thanks also for the £50 cheque Gary presented to me as a contribution to the Rotary charity, End Polio Now! A great night to remember!

Leave a Reply

